light intensity shower rain
humidity: 82%
wind: 4m/s SW
H 17 • L 14
Weather from OpenWeatherMap
Hicks Sausages Leaderboard

British and Irish Lions 2017 squad: Warren Gatland picks 11 Irishmen to tour New Zealand – with Jared Payne among the surprise selections

2013’s Lions tour of Australia was a wild success. Picture: INPHO/Billy Stickland

SAM Warburton will captain a British and Irish Lions squad featuring 11 Irishmen, head coach Warren Gatland has announced.

Gatland, who will hope to guide the team to another series victory after the 2013 triumph in Australia, surprised many with his selection, with prominent English stars such as hooker Dylan Hartley and second row Joe Launchbury excluded from the squad.

In terms of backs, scrum-half Conor Murray, fly-half Jonathan Sexton and centres Jared Payne and Robbie Henshaw were all called up to the 37-man squad.

Payne’s selection will arguably raise the most eyebrows as months of intense speculation come to an end.

Props Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong, hooker Rory Best, second row Iain Henderson and back rows CJ Stander, Sean O’Brien and Peter O’Mahony make up Gatland’s Irish contingent of forwards.

The Lions will play 10 matches in New Zealand – three tests vs the All Blacks, five fixtures against New Zealand Super Rugby sides and two matches against the New Zealand Barbarians and the New Zealand Maoris.

The opening game of the tour will take place against the New Zealand Barbarians on June 3, with the first test against the All Blacks scheduled for June 24.

Overall, there are 16 English players in the squad, 12 Welsh, 11 Irish and just two Scottish.

Here is the squad in full:

Loosehead props

Joe Marler (England)

Jack McGrath (Ireland)

Mako Vunipola (England)


Rory Best (Ireland)

Jamie George (England)

Ken Owens (Wales)

Tighthead props

Dan Cole (England)

Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)

Kyle Sinckler (England)

Second rows

Iain Henderson (Ireland)

Maro Itoje (England)

Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

George Kruis (England)

Courtney Lawes (England)


Sean O’Brien (Ireland)

Peter O’Mahony (Ireland)

CJ Stander (Ireland)

Justin Tipuric (Wales)

Sam Warburton (Wales) CAPTAIN

Ross Moriarty (Wales)

Number eights

Taulupe Faletau (Wales)

Billy Vunipola (England)


Conor Murray (Ireland)

Ben Youngs (England)

Rhys Webb (Wales)


Dan Biggar (Wales)

Johnny Sexton (Ireland)


Elliot Daly (England)

Jonathan Davies (Wales)

Owen Farrell (England)

Robbie Henshaw (Ireland)

Ben Te’o (England)

Jonathan Joseph (England)

Jared Payne (Ireland)


George North (Wales)

Anthony Watson (England)

Jack Nowell (England)

Tommy Seymour (Scotland)

Liam Williams (Wales)


Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)

Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

Quattro UK MPU

Aidan Lonergan

Aidan Lonergan is a Digital Reporter with The Irish Post. You can follow him on Twitter @ajlonergan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About us

The Irish Post is the biggest selling national newspaper to the Irish in Britain. delivers all the latest Irish news to our online audience around the globe.

Contact Editorial

Tel: +44 (0)20 8900 4193


Tel: +44 (0)20 8900 4159


Irish Post